my favorite old songs …

what a wonderful world

I see trees of green, red roses too
I see them bloom for me and you
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue and clouds of white
The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night
And I think to myself what a wonderful world.

The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of people going by
I see friends shaking hands saying how do you do
They’re really saying I love you.

I hear babies crying, I watch them grow
They’ll learn much more than I’ll never know
And I think to myself what a wonderful world

Yes I think to myself what a wonderful world.

leader of the band

An only child alone and wild
A cabinet maker’s son
His hands were meant for different work
And his heart was known to none
He left his home and went his lone and solitary way
And he gave to me a gift
I know I never can repay

A quiet man of music
Denied a simpler fate
He tried to be a soldier once
But his music wouldn’t wait
He earned his love thru’ discipline
A thundering velvet hand
His gentle means of sculpting souls
Took me years to understand

The leader of the band
Is tired and his eyes are growing old
But his blood runs thru’ my instrument
And his song is in my soul
My life has been a poor attempt to imitate the man
I’m just a living legacy
To the leader of the band

My brother’s lives were different
For they heard another call
One went to Chicago and the other to St. Paul
And I’m in Colorado
When I’m not in some hotel
Living out this life I’ve chose
And come to know so well

I thank you for the music
And your stories of the road
I thank you for the freedom
When it came my time to go
I thank you for the kindness
And the times when you got tough
And papa I don’t think I said
“I love you” near enough

The leader of the band
Is tired and his eyes are growing old
But his blood runs thru’ my instrument
And his song is in my soul
My life has been a poor attempt to imitate the man
I’m just a living legacy
To the leader of the band
I am the living legacy
To the leader of the band

father and son(cat stevens)

Father
It’s not time to make a change,
Just relax, take it easy.
You’re still young, that’s your fault,
There’s so much you have to know.
Find a girl, settle down,
If you want you can marry.
Look at me, I am old, but I’m happy.

I was once like you are now, and I know that it’s not easy,
To be calm when you’ve found something going on.
But take your time, think a lot,
Why, think of everything you’ve got.
For you will still be here tomorrow, but your dreams may not.

Son
How can I try to explain, when I do he turns away again.
It’s always been the same, same old story.
From the moment I could talk I was ordered to listen.
Now there’s a way and I know that I have to go away.
I know I have to go.

Father
It’s not time to make a change,
Just sit down, take it slowly.
You’re still young, that’s your fault,
There’s so much you have to go through.
Find a girl, settle down,
if you want you can marry.
Look at me, I am old, but I’m happy.
(Son– Away Away Away, I know I have to
Make this decision alone – no)
Son
All the times that I cried, keeping all the things I knew inside,
It’s hard, but it’s harder to ignore it.
If they were right, I’d agree, but it’s them They know not me.
Now there’s a way and I know that I have to go away.
I know I have to go.
(Father– Stay Stay Stay, Why must you go and
make this decision alone?)

close to you(frank Sinatra)

As I stood and said goodbye
With a lump in my throat
Couldn’t bear the hurt inside
As I found your foolish note
While I understand your pain
I could see what you’ve to gain
By leaving me alone
Why won’t you come back home

But your love whispers through my life
And I can’t fake the pain inside

If you’d only let me get close to you
Oh girl, I’d feel the world’s at my feet
And I’d know that all my dreams have come true
For me and for you
Just wait and believe, you’ll see
I want to get close to you

Close to you
So close to you
Close to you

Well the road was long
And my tears have all dried up
Because the distance we shared
Was an enemy of love

I got my bag on my back
And my coat in my hand
I’m gonna take this distance
Unto another man’s land

But your love whispers through my life
And I can’t fake the pain inside

If you’d only let me get close to you
Oh girl, I’d feel the world’s at my feet
And I’d know that all my dreams have come true
For me and for you
Just wait and believe, you’ll see
I want to get close to you

Close to you
So close to you
Close to you

I want to get close to you

Close to you
So close to you
Close to you

So close to you
Close to you
So close to you
Close to you

Leave a Reply

